h1

Migration from UMN blog and Free/Reduced Price Lunch in Minnesota

April 4, 2009

This is my first post on WordPress after migrating from the UMN blog roll. WordPress appears to be more feature rich and customizable. This will now be my sole blogging source. I intend to include R and WinBUGS code here as well as other information relevant to my research.

As part of my research with the Institute of Child Development at the University of Minnesota I have been involved with modeling math and reading achievement in homeless/highly mobile (HHM) students in the Minneapolis public school district. This work has fostered a deeper interest in child development in general and HHM students in particular. I decided it might be interest to look at the proportion of students on free/reduced price lunch by county in Minnesota. The map was quickly created below by using the ggplot2 package in R. While I am not sure if I feel that county is the best scale to examine free/reduced price lunch at it does however allow a cursory spatial examination of free lunch in Minnesota.

Free/Reduced Price Lunch

Leave a Reply

