h1

Dropbox package for Debian Testing (Squeeze) for amd64

February 4, 2010

I am sharing a Dropbox package that I built from a Ubuntu source (from the Dropbox website) on a Debian testing machine. So it is binary compatible with Debian testing. Click here to download it. If there is a problem with it please let me know.

NOTE: This is not the same as installing the Ubuntu binary of nautilus-dropbox. My package is a complete rebuild and therefore is 100% compatible with Debian as it was built on Debian using Debian build dependencies.

6 comments

  1. Thanks for sharing Dropbox package that works perfectly on my newly built lenovo X300.
    Yes, it is very much timely and saved my time on the Friday afternoon.

    TGIF and again thanks!


    • thank you! Works great on Debian sid.


  2. Many many thanks for this compiled package. Works beautifully on the new (alpha) crunchbang “statler” amd64.


  3. Are there many differences between 32 & 64 bit, or would it be ‘easy’ to make a 32 bit version?


    • Not really. One is optimized for a 64 bit processor. I can’t build a 32 bit one here without a VM and that’s why I haven’t created one. You can use my instructions for rolling your own .deb package here to make a dropbox package.


  4. FWIW, I have prepared Debian packages that are going to be included in Debian. You can get them here. There are packages for Debian 6.0 (Squeeze) and for Wheezy/Unstable.

    Hope this helps.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

